Why social networks scare me

Yeah. They do.

Among the multitude of social networking sites, I’ve joined just one-Facebook. And a bad facebooker(is that the word?) at that. The only reason I have joined was to keep connecting with my family overseas and keep in touch with my old friends. Nobody gives a call now! They only drop messages or post in your walls!

So I’ve got what I needed, but there are extras I hate!

1. Those never-ending friend requests

From people you hardly talk to. Or worse from those you hate (and they may be knowing it too!). And even from people you don’t know from what place, no chance of having met or even meet in the future.

2.You are judged by your activity online

It’s no place to be for introverts like me. Introverts in the virtual world. In the real world I am a chatterbox. With a loud volume.

Speaking of which, I would like to present to you my classification of Facebook users.

Extroverted extroverts
They are as much a chatterbox in all worlds. They like everything, give in comments like Lol or Cool in every posts, and updates their status more often than they blink. Bring out laughs and chatter wherever they go.

Extroverted introverts
Logged in 24×7. Maybe they have nothing better to do. When seen real-time, only the choicest of words drop out of their mouths. If only they had that online courage in the real world! The banes of unlimited connectivity!!

Introverted extroverts
Prefers face to face chat than hitting away the keys. Virtual persona dull compared to who they really are. Must be keeping busy with better things out in the wild.

Introverted introverts
Akin to dead torrents. Even goes invisible. Acting true to their real persona. I have seen some truly great minds in this category!

3. Online fights versus offline fights
You never know how and when little jokes deviate into abusing and bad-mouthing. In real-life, you could try not to let things go out of hand, but here, God knows how to put an end. ‘Coz I’ve got the f###### right to freedom of speech! In real-time, you may juat miss that spot due to lack of timing. But time is at your service here to brew up that reply which hits the sweet spot! The very reason why quarrels lasts looong.
And these things happen right under your nose. If you ever go near to pacify, gone is your case! You learn to never repeat your mistake.

4. Your images are at anybody’s disposal
You never know who is gonna share your photo and where it finally ends up. Yet again, with unlimited freedom at our disposal, one can never be sure of anything. I personally have had experiences where my photos were shared and posted in contexts I could hardly have imagined. It mesmerises me how the powerful the human mind is!

5. Delete malfunction
An oft-discussed topic. How long facebook stores our personal information and images despite deleting them. I can never fathom the intentions behind these actions. And I can never get my head around those deftly worded privacy policies!

To sum it up,
I don’t digg facebook coz u never have any flickr of an idea on what your tweets might stumble upon that evades your(my)space with people linked-into you(r)tube of life!

5 thoughts on “Why social networks scare me

  1. Great article. I you’ve mentioned a lot of reasons why we will not entertain the idea of having a Facebook account!! Strange cyber world we live in. Tweeting is for people who have nothing better to do in life than to sound out without the hope of any response. We do have Twitter accounts but have to admit to hardly ever using them.

Leave a Reply

